What We Do

The Saskatchewan Association of Architects (SAA) is a self-governing professional association, mandated by the Province of Saskatchewan under The Architects Act, 1996 to regulate the practice of architecture in the province.

The Act and the SAA Bylaws (legislation and regulations) govern administrative and operational activities and decisions of council. They allow the Association to undertake activities which promote and protect the interests of the Association and of the profession as long as doing so does not impede or interfere with the Association’s primary objective to protect the public. The advocacy work of the SAA is done within the context of the protection of the public mandate.

Our mandate is to:

  • ensure the protection of the public interest, and
  • regulate and advance the profession of architecture in the Province of Saskatchewan.

The association is governed by a Council of ten members: seven elected resident architects and two public appointees (one a university faculty member), and the Past-President. The association is also served by many dedicated volunteers among its members, including three standing committees (Practice, Education, and Communications committees) and those who act as representatives to a number of external professional organizations.